Chocolate – coffee pots

I believe, I am an adult, never grown out of the choco – mania 🙂

Strangely, whenever I decide to bake, I end up baking a chocolate cake, with few variations though. There are two basic reasons to this :

#1 I am a terrible chocoholic

#2 I got a girl who is equally growing fond of chocolates 😛

So possibly, I am never gonna bake a cake of any other flavour !!

( I like to experiment though )

This weekend, since I could not find  other ingredients at hand, I had to bake this cake, called the chocolate pot, with some coffee, added for extra flavour.

Hope you all like it……..

Ingredients:

  •  1 cup    All purpose flour
  • 1 cup     castor sugar
  • 1 tbsp    cocoa powder
  • 1/2 tsp   baking powder
  • 1 drop    vanilla essence
  • 100 g      melted butter
  • 100 g      baking chocolate
  • 100 ml    any aerated drink (pepsi/coke/thumbs up)
  • some coffee (grounded)
  • some extra chocolate (optional)

Method:

  • Melt the butter and the chocolate together in a microwave.
  • In a bowl, sift together, flour, castor sugar, cocoa powder and the baking powder.
  • To this dry mix, add the melted butter and chocolate and whisk together.
  • Now add, a drop of vanilla essence, coffee and the aerated drink. Whisk together properly.
  • Grease a microwave proof glass bowl with butter and pour in the mixture.
  • Drop the extra chocolate, exactly in the middle of the bowl. Make sure to cover it up with the mixture.
  • Microwave at 100% power for 2 min and then check.
  • Next microwave again at 80% power for 2 min.
  • Then microwave at 50% power for 1 min and check if a toothpick comes out clean.
  • Cool completely and its ready to gulp 🙂

You can either turn it upside down, out of the bowl in a plate and eat it with vanilla ice cream. Or, eat it in the bowl itself.

Since I couldn’t resist the killing smell of the chocolate while it was baking, I preferred the second method.

The melted chocolate in the middle of the bowl, satisfies your extreme chocolate cravings…….it is like a choco-lava bursting into your mouth 😉

This is how the pots looked when I put them into the oven
The chocolate bowls are ready to be eaten up
This one was eaten up by me while I clicked these  pics 

Till you go bake yours, I am off to finish my choco-lava-coffee-bowl of goodness !!

10 thoughts on “Chocolate – coffee pots

  1. Oh I really want to try these! They seem to be pretty easy. Maybe even have a couple different toppings on the side for people to choose from! Thanks for sharing! P.S. I’m hosting my first giveaway of a fabulous pair of earrings if you’d like to participate. http://bit.ly/MHu9Or

    1. Yep, I do like the cut down baking time, but then somethings I need crumbly and crusty cannot be baked in the microwave, that’s a drawback…
      Thanks for stopping by 🙂

  2. Coming from a chocolate obsessee your pots looks fantastic 😀
    I would say portion control but I would end up eating three or so 😉
    Thank you for the comment on my blog, you really made my day!

    Cheers
    CCU

    1. You made my day too hun 🙂
      Yes I am a chocoholic and can’t bake a cake of any other flavour, I end up adding cocoa powder and choco chips to any cake I bake (crazy, eh !!)

Leave a Reply

