The monk who sold his Ferrari

This weekend, I started off with another book, a best seller and the most hyped about I guess – The monk who sold his Ferrari by Robin Sharma.

From all the accolades and the admiration it had gotten around since long, I believed it would be a really good read. But I personally felt it was a bummer. 😛

The story revolves around a successful lawyer, who gives up all his materialistic pleasures, to go into the Himalayas in search of peace and find the true meaning of his life. He then returns and shares the same spiritual preachings with a friend of his.

Of course, the beginning was good and an engrossing one, describing all the stress and frustration of the fast life we live in, but somewhere I felt I lost the contact with it. Not that the content isn’t up to the mark, its actually fantabulous with all the research work the author has done, but I believe it wouldn’t please the fairer sex much.

Mr. Sharma believes that a person needs to get into self search mode, leaving everything behind and wandering away into the woods. Now that’s what I cannot digest.

As a mother, if in any case, I am not happy the way my life is shaping up, and that I need some ‘me time’, I need to reinvent myself by going away into the snow capped mountains and getting all the spiritual ideas from the monks, how many would really not call me selfish to have left behind my children, without a mother?

On a different note, will I be ever able to return back and  look into their eyes without feeling guilty.

Parents have the innate ability to forgive their children in whatever wrong they do, but if you expect the same from children, you would be disappointed. Parents once gone wrong can never be excused, come whatever may.

I do agree, today we live fast lives, under too much of stress, especially the women, juggling all the way between kids and home and work and still feeling guilty about not being good mothers. But I specially would love to salute those mothers who take up home making as a full time work, ditching their careers, just to be with their families.

And then Mr. Robin Sharma, however distressed we are, we would never leave the family and the kids behind to find a fulfilling answer to our existence.

The views expressed here are my own, and may be they change soon, coz I am still halfway through the book…..more to come on this, till then adieus 🙂

3 thoughts on “The monk who sold his Ferrari

Leave a Reply

